Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

31
Resonator Guitar Lovers Online


Resonator Guitar Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The resonator guitar reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

255 reviews in the archive.

Troy Brenningmyer LessonswithTroy.com

Submitted by genesis1-1 (see all reviews from this person) on 9/3/2015

Overall Comments

 Troy's lessons offer a step-by-step method to get up and running and learn the instrument the right way.   He breaks things down in simple bite-size pieces. Every lesson is complete, relevant, and very useful.  The camera angles showcase the proper technique up close. I can't say enough  good things about his lessons. Even his Weisenborn and lap steel lessons are amazing. He makes the dobro easy and fun to learn

 

Overall Rating: 10

Andy Hall

Submitted by Stringnut (see all reviews from this person) on 4/28/2013

Overall Comments

Folks, I am coming up on the end of a 3 month stint of lessons with Andy Hall at the Academy of Bluegrass (Artisworks) and I've got to say it was money well spent. I have been feverishly inhaling as much from Andy's lessons as I can and man, is there a lot of great information, technique and songs to learn on this site. You can download tabs and backing tracks to practice with and Andy really gets into the details of right and left hand techniques, scales and improvisation and even other things to think about in your playing that you may not have thought about yourself. I was able to upload one video (didn't have camcorder until this last month or I would have sent more) that Andy reviewed and gave me some great feedback.There are lessons for Beginners, Intermediate and Advanced players so everyone can benefit. And believe me, there is enough stuff to keep you busy for quite some time. Unfortunately, I will have to take a break from my lessons at the end of the first 3 months but plan on hooking back up this fall after a busy Summer. I would highly recommend lessons from Andy Hall if you are thinking about it at all, go ahead and pull the trigger. You won't regret it.

Overall Rating: 10

Troy Brenningmyer LessonswithTroy.com

Submitted by doug662 (see all reviews from this person) on 8/5/2012

Overall Comments

http://www.lessonswithtroy.com/dobro_lessons/SLOW-N-PRETTY-Dobro-Part-1-Easy-Movable-Shapes-and-Patterns.html
this is a well done lesson and i know i post it in the forums as a must have, but it is what it is......a great lesson

Overall Rating: 10

Troy Brenningmyer LessonswithTroy.com

Submitted by islandgirl (see all reviews from this person) on 6/17/2012

Overall Comments

I can't say enough about the LessonswithTroy.com website! I was hesitant, at first, to attempt to download a lesson because of my very limited technical skills navigating a computer, but it was so straight-forward even I could do it with ease. These lessons are so easy to follow, and a most incredible bargain for the wealth of materials you receive. I purchased a lesson, downloaded the pdf printed material immediately, then didn't have an opportunity to sit down with the lesson for a couple of months. I tried to find it on my computer, but was having difficulty so I went back on Troy's website and he had an entire section devoted to retrieving your lesson once you've forgotten where you put it!! I had it retrieved within seconds, and I am set to order my next lesson. Thanks, Troy. You have a great product there. It is very professionally recorded and laid out, and I love the fact that I can learn a bit at a time, and refer back to the lesson any time.

Overall Rating: 10

Troy Brenningmyer LessonswithTroy.com

Submitted by banjowes (see all reviews from this person) on 2/28/2012

Overall Comments

I am a very new to the Dobro but not new to music and learning. I have been playing banjo semi pro to pro player for a number of those years and have been around the block a time or two. Starting the dobro was a tough choice for taking on a new instrument can be very humbling. I came across Troys videos on U Tube and became interested. I then checked out his website and I was blown away by the material offered at such a reasonable price. His lessons are clear, well recorded and his teaching demeanor makes you feel like you are sitting in the room with him. He leaves no stone unturned by offering jam tracks and tab to go along with the video lesson. Where else could you go and get the hottest licks you ever wanted for 13 bucks? I dare say nowhere. I have never seen such a complete teaching site anywhere that could even touch his for any instrument. My daunting task of being stage ready for the dobro in a year seems so much less daunting with Troy. I guess you might say this is a rave review. You all need to check him out.

Overall Rating: 10

Mike Auldridge

Submitted by dches (see all reviews from this person) on 10/22/2011

Overall Comments

I have had the pleasure of visiting with Mr Auldridge on two occassions now. The first time, I only had the reso, my first, for about 48 hrs. Needless to say, I couldn't do much with it. Mr Auldridge is extremely patient and with work with you until you get it. I highly recommend anyone who is just starting out to a person who thinks they know it all to visit him. Go to his website for detials.

Overall Rating: 10

Rob Anderlik

Submitted by Oldpiper73 (see all reviews from this person) on 3/11/2011

Overall Comments

Rob is the complete instructor for the reso and Weissenborn. His vast experience as a school teacher and instrument teacher enables him to guide the student to where he needs to go. He is thorough and very nice guy to deal with. His follow-up is as valuable as his lessons. I've had several reso teachers and none compare with Rob. Also a superb player.

Overall Rating: 10

Mike Auldridge

Submitted by ibchuck (see all reviews from this person) on 7/21/2009

Overall Comments

I recently had the pleasure of taking an extended lesson from mike and I would highly recomend anyone who can afford it to do the same.What a treat to see and hear a living legend up close.Also he makes a tracked cd of the lesson for you to take home which is very helpfull for retention and further practice.His website has contact information.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375