Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

33
Resonator Guitar Lovers Online


Resonator Guitar Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The resonator guitar reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

255 reviews in the archive.

Steve Kaufman Acoustic Kamp

Submitted by ward8001 (see all reviews from this person) on 7/7/2014

Overall Comments

I attended the 2014 Kaufman Acoustic Kamp for Dobro, my first time at this camp.  Maybe 300 total students and 20 or so dobro students on the beautiful Maryville College campus in Tennessee.  The instructors, Jimmy Heffernan and Stacy Phillips were great.  Room and board not so much.  My college dorm days are behind me and the food was not good.  I moved to a local hotel after 2 days.  While the classes were great, and I learned a lot, it was certainly not an immersion experience.  3 days would have been plenty of time to cover the material rather than 6 days.  Many, many students though were back for their 5th or 10th or 15th time so the slow pace and long social times are appreciated by many - just not what I was looking for.

Overall Rating: 6

bluegrass

Submitted by dakota leid (see all reviews from this person) on 10/4/2013

Overall Comments

good pickin'

Overall Rating: 10

Reso Gathering

Submitted by CommGuy107 (see all reviews from this person) on 7/19/2013

Overall Comments

I have been involved with music at every imaginable level over the past 30 years or so. Never have I encountered a more friendly, more inviting, more pleasant event than ResoGat in Wilkesboro, NC.

Players of all levels playing, learning, sharing, and celebrating their love of music and the resonator guitar in an extremely laid back setting.

If you've been - you know. If you haven't - you need to make plans to attend.

Overall Rating: 10

Steve Kaufman Acoustic Kamp

Submitted by edcchi (see all reviews from this person) on 7/21/2012

Overall Comments

HI Michel. I got the other Wave Capo, I agree, good ound, easy to use. See you next year at camp.

Overall Rating: 10

Steve Kaufman Acoustic Kamp

Submitted by Michael Hughes (see all reviews from this person) on 6/26/2012

Overall Comments

Just got back from the 2012 Steve Kaufman Acoustic Kamp. This was my second year and the same instructors returned from 2011--MIke Witcher and Ivan Roseberg. The instructors did a great job of picking up where they had left off, just enough review for us to go "Oh yeah, I remember." I think I learned more this year than last, probably because I was at a higher level this year than last. As far as that goes, I noticed a definite improvement in the skill level of all the returning students.
In addition to getting some great insights from class, the staff concerts remain the best live entertainment I have ever attended. This year the concerts were in the gym (rather than the performing arts center like last year) but I was NOT disappointed by the change of venue. The setting was more intimate and the acoustics were actually better.
Maryville College campus was beautiful, and the jams were great.
I have already blocked off next year on my calendar.

Overall Rating: 10

Steve Kaufman Acoustic Kamp

Submitted by Michael Hughes (see all reviews from this person) on 7/5/2011

Overall Comments

There were two groups dedicated to the Reso at the 2011 Kamp, alternately taught by Ivan Rosenberg and Mike Witcher. The instruction was great, the Maryville College campus was the perfect venue, and the evening concerts were the best live entertainment I've ever heard. The instructors were excellent at gauging where you were in your skill and helping you take the next logical step. Staff, instructors, and fellow students were as nice a crowd as you could ever hope to hang out with. I'm making this camp an annual event for my enjoyment and my improvement.

Overall Rating: 10

Wintergrass 2010

Submitted by dodgedougak (see all reviews from this person) on 4/30/2010

Overall Comments

Another great year for wintergrass. 2009 and previous was held in Tacoma, WA. 2010 was at a new venue in Bellevue, WA. I was a bit skeptical going in, but the new town and venue really wanted us and were great hosts. The highlight was sitting at the Rayco Guitar booth listening to Mark, Chad, Orville and all jamming for hours. Great bands, great workshops and great people.

Overall Rating: 8

Merlefest 2010

Submitted by harperk31794 (see all reviews from this person) on 4/29/2010

Overall Comments

Best festival I've ever been to. The festival starts on Thursday but the jamming starts the Sunday before and continues throughout the festival. I will definitely be back.

Overall Rating: 10

Reso Gathering

Submitted by crh1 (see all reviews from this person) on 7/21/2009

Overall Comments

The Reso players at the gathering were great, all types and all different skill levels. I was very comfortable picking with any of them. People were anxious to share licks with you. I am looking forward to next year.

Overall Rating: 10

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.078125