Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

59
Resonator Guitar Lovers Online


Resonator Guitar Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The resonator guitar reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

255 reviews in the archive.

FISHOOK: Mahogany

Submitted by benspinks on 2/29/2012

Where Purchased: Fishook

Year Purchased: 2012
Price Paid: 4250 ($US)

Sound

Beautiful! It's warm, rich and powerful, but with superb sensitivity and balance. It's all I could have hoped for and more.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

Everything was perfect.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

It looks stunning. The blend of colours and the Rosewood/Koa binding makes it look like such a classy instrument.

Appearance Rating: 10

Reliability

Top notch hardware and a beautifully applied natural Oil finish. It'll probably last longer than I will, and the up-side of an oil finish is that it's very easily repairable if the worst should happen.

Reliability Rating: 10

Customer Service

The nicest, most communicative and passionate builder I've dealt with. Kudos to JD!!

Customer Service: 10

Components

All perfect and top notch.

Components Rating: 10

Overall Comments

Exactly what I wanted. Just a wonderful instrument made by a wonderful builder.

Overall Rating: 10

Mel Bay: Rob Ickes: Contemporary Dobro Artistry

Submitted by benspinks on 1/11/2010

Where Purchased: Eagle Music UK

Overall Comments

Stunning DVD in every respect. Jazz, country, Blues, Bluegrass... It's got it all, and then some!

Overall Rating: 10

Beard Guitars: MA-6

Submitted by benspinks on 1/9/2010

Where Purchased: Beard

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 3700 ($US)

Sound

Hard to find the words. It's as loud and resonant as you'd expect from a modern large body guitar, but the way it's controlled is amazing. It's got the sweet, refined clarity of a small body guitar, but with that volume and punch of a large body guitar. I think it's the perfect combination.

Sound Rating: 10

Setup

The setup was perfect, as you'd expect from Beard.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

It's the red sunset model with the lotus cover plate. Construction is top notch and the detail work (binding, inlay etc) is very well done.


Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

I'm sure it'll last longer than I will

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Customer service was great. Both Chet and Howard are top guys to work with.

Customer Service: 9

Components

Components are of good quality, wouldn't expect anything less to be honest.

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

Just about the best sounding guitar you'll ever hear, regardless of price.

Overall Rating: 9

Gold Tone: PBS

Submitted by benspinks on 1/9/2010

Where Purchased: Frailers UK

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 650 (£) historic exchange rates / currency converter

Sound

Sounds great. Good volume, good balance, good clarity.

Sound Rating: 8

Setup

This guitar was bought in the UK and as such had come direct from the far east. There was no setup evident at all. Previously broken bridge, unlevel/undressed spider, nut slots too deep.

Corrected this and it's great.

Setup Rating: 3

Appearance

Great looking, really good finish.

Appearance Rating: 8

Reliability

Hardward seems good and the internal parts are all Beard. Can't go wrong really.

Reliability Rating: 8

Customer Service

Nice company to deal with, but as you'd expect over here not much knowledge on resonators.

Customer Service: 7

Components

For the price all components are above average.

Components Rating: 8

Overall Comments

Really great, well designed guitars. For a beginner or occasional player there is nothing better. Period.

The most important thing I will say in this review is that if you’re outside of America don't bother buying one local, go direct to Beard or a US store that carries the Beard set-up ones

Overall Rating: 8

Wechter: Rob Ickes model

Submitted by benspinks on 1/9/2010

Where Purchased: Rob Ickes

Year Purchased: 2009
Price Paid: 1200 ($US)

Sound

A bit disappointing. Duller, quieter and not as resonant as I was expecting.

Sound Rating: 6

Setup

Setup was perfect. Best I’ve seen on a budget instrument.

Setup Rating: 10

Appearance

Best build quality I've seen on an instrument of this price. Better that some a lot more expensive too.

Appearance Rating: 9

Reliability

Can't complain about anything. All parts look great.

Reliability Rating: 9

Customer Service

Rob was great to deal with. Flawless service

Customer Service: 10

Components

95% great, just get rid of that horrible fat import spider!!

Components Rating: 9

Overall Comments

Everything about this guitar is great, except the sound, which is average at best. It's not surprising that almost everyone who buys one has it re-setup, after which it's absolutely great.

Overall Rating: 7

BLUE CHIP PICKS: BCT 1M

Submitted by benspinks on 1/9/2010

Where Purchased: Blue Chip

Overall Comments

Superb quality, superb sound, lasted longer than my marriage and provided a lot more fun.

Overall Rating: 10

Walworth: Reso Capo

Submitted by benspinks on 1/9/2010

Where Purchased: Elderly

Overall Comments

Nice to see an alternative to the usual suspects. Great design, great build quality, excellent tone, good price. No faults.

Overall Rating: 10

Ron Tipton: RT2 Bar

Submitted by benspinks on 1/9/2010

Where Purchased: Ron Tipton

Overall Comments

Excellent guy, great service, peerless product. The original and best.

Overall Rating: 10

Perfect Touch: nickel, round face finger picks

Submitted by benspinks on 1/9/2010

Where Purchased: Elderly

Overall Comments

Interesting design and by far the most comfortable pick's I’ve ever worn. My only problem with them is that they only come in 0.020, which sounds a bit thin to me. If they made them in 0.025 they'd never leave my fingers

Overall Rating: 8

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.046875